The annual He Manu Pīrere nō te Kōhanga Reo Tertiary Scholarships are intended to support graduates of Kōhanga Reo that are currently enrolled for full-time study in a New Zealand Tertiary Institute. Refer to the Scholarship Application Guidelines or Frequently Asked Questions for further information. Visit our Past Scholarship Recipients page for more information on previous years recipients.


“Me pioke he āwhio mō te Kōhanga Reo, He taonga tuku iho nā te Atua, Te taonga e kore e ngaro, i ngā tau whakahuihui, i ngā tau takaoriori.” (Tā Hemi Henare)

Upon the sudden loss of our prestigious Rangatira, Kōhanga Reo whānau throughout the motu expressed their wish to establish a scholarship in honour and memory of Tā Hemi Henare who was Patron of the movement at the time. 

The Trust, with collective contributions from Kōhanga Reo whānau throughout Aotearoa and the Māori Education Trust, supported the establishment of the capital fund that underpins this scholarship. The annual interest derived from the capital fund services the distribution. 

Each year, one (1) scholarship valued at $10,000.00 is awarded to a student studying at Doctorate PhD Level. 
You can apply online for the Tā Hemi Henare PhD Scholarship, or download a hardcopy of the application form. Refer to the application guidelines for the scholarship criteria and supporting documentation requirements.


Te Kōhanga Reo (TKR) Masters Scholarships are intended to support Ngā Manu Pīrere that are undertaking postgraduate studies at Masters level (or equivalent).

These scholarships are valued at $2000 each and are awarded to five (5) Kōhanga Reo graduates each year.

To apply for the TKR Masters Scholarships you can access the form online or download a hardcopy of the form. See the guidelines document for additional scholarship criteria and application requirements.


The TKR Preferred Provider Scholarships are made possible through the Preferred Providers programme negotiated in partnership with the Te Kōhanga Reo Whānau Card. 

Twenty (20) scholarships valued at $1000.00 are awarded each year to Ngā Manu Pīrere undertaking Undergraduate studies. Undergraduate level is the post-secondary education and before postgraduate education. It includes all academic programs up to and including a bachelor’s degree. 

Applications for the Undergraduate Scholarships can be made online or by downloading a hardcopy of the form. Refer to the application guidelines for more information. 



If you have any questions regarding the Kōhanga Reo Tertiary Scholarships, please refer to our Frequently Asked Questions document or our Scholarship Guidelines. Alternatively, you can email us at: [email protected] and one of our team will respond as soon as possible.